International board

The International Board of Fondation La main à la pâte is made up of well-known international figures who, by their expertise and commitment, attest to the interest of the scientific and teaching world in transforming science teaching. The Board issues opinions and recommendations on the functioning, orientations and development of the Foundation’s activities.

The International Board will meet in June 2015 on the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the creation of La main à la pâte.

You can find here the Report of the International Visiting Committee to the Fondation La main à la pâte.

  • The members of the International Board are approved by the Executive Board. For the 2015-1018 period, the board will be composed of:


Bruce Alberts (born in 1938, USA), a biochemist, was president of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in the United States from 1993 to 2005. From 2009 to 2013, he was Editor in Chief of Science magazine, which he oriented largely towards education issues. He teaches at the University of California, and is highly devoted to the renewal of science and maths teaching. He was a member of the PuRkwa Jury, a prize created with Georges Charpak to foster a spirit of scientific inquiry among children of the world.

Edouard Brezin (born in 1938, France), theoretical physicist, works at the laboratory for theoretical physics at the Ecole Normale Supérieure (Paris) and is professor emeritus at Université Pierre et Marie Curie and honorary professor at Ecole Polytechnique. He is a member of the French Academy of Sciences, where he held the position of president in 2005-2006, during which period a Delegation for Education was formed. He has acted as president of the jury for the PuRkwa Prize.

Faouzia Charfi (born in 1941,Tunisia), is physics professor at the University of Tunis, and laureate of the Tesla Prize. She acted as Secretary of State for Higher Education in the interim government formed after the revolution of 14 January 2011. She is the author of La Science voilée (2013), in which she analyses the relationship between Islam and science, in the past and today, and emphasises the importance of education.

Rosa Deves (born in 1950, Chile) is a biochemist specialising in cellular physiology. She is a corresponding member of the Academy of Sciences in Chile, and is Vice-President of the University of Chile. In 2000, she was an advisor to the Minister of Education for the science curricula, and became involved in the ECBI project (Educación en Ciencias Basada en la Indagación – inquiry-based science education) in 2003. This project has had an impact on all of Latin America.

Ogobara Doumbo (born in 1956, Mali), is a biologist and doctor specialising in malaria. He was the first winner of the Institute of France Grand Prix Rodolphe-et-Christophe Mérieux in 2007. He headed the department of epidemiology at the Faculty of Medecine at the University of Bamako for ten years, and is now director of the university’s Malaria Research and Training Centre.

Fritz HahnE (born in 1939, South Africa), is professor of physics at the University of Capetown. In 2003 he co-founded the African Institute for Mathematical Sciences, which he has directed since its creation. The institute opened centres in South Africa, Kenya, Ethiopia, Cameroon and Tanzanie. Their goal is to promote science by welcoming students from all over Africa every year, with high level teachers who engage them in their fields of maths and sciences, such as physics, information technology and engineering.

Hideaki Koizumi (born in 1946, Japan) is research director for Hitachi. He is one of the leading researchers in cognitive and neurosciences. He made a major contribution to the development of the functional MRI and observation techniques of cerebral functions in real time, which were particularly beneficial to education through his collaboration with the OECD.

Yee Cheong Lee (born in 1937, Malaysia) is an engineer. He was Vice-President of the Academy of Sciences in Malaysia and founded the Malaysian Academy of Engineering Technology and Sciences. Since 2012, he has directed the IAP Education Programme (the global network of science academies) and is president of the ISTIC (International Science, Technology and Innovation Centre for South-South cooperation) under the auspices of UNESCO.

Martin Rees (born in 1942, United Kingdom) is a theoretical astrophysicist, professor emeritus at the University of Cambridge and former president of the Royal Society (2005-2010). He has held the title of Astronomer Royal since 1995. In 2013, he acted as president of the United Kingdom’s Association for Science Education (ASE) and devoted his time towards building education in developing countries.

Courtney Ross (born in 1948, USA), founded the Ross School and the Ross Institute (East Hampton, NY) in 1994 by personal endowment. The school’s teaching philosophy is innovative and active, based on a curriculum founded on the cultural evolution of humanity with particularly consideration given to diversity among its students and their donations.

C.N.R. Rao (born in 1934, India), is honorary president of the Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research in Bangalore, India. He has held an honorary professor position in chemistry at the Indian Institute of Science since 1994 and since 2007 is a distinguished researcher at the University of Cambridge.