Scientific and educational development Committee

Scientific and Educational Development Committee

The Foundation’s Scientific and Educational Development Committee is appointed by the Governing Board for a four year term. It is made up of at least five scientific figures, from France and abroad, chosen for their contributions to science.

The committee assists the Governing Board by providing its reflections on the major guidelines in scientific education (pedagogy, instilling a taste for the sciences, etc.), all the while maintaining the goal of equal access to education and suggestions for new initiatives.

It provides support to the Foundation’s activities in its recommendations in terms of educational and scientific cooperation, partnerships and development.


Members of the Scientific and educational development Committee since 2012

Yves Bréchet : President of the Committee, member of the Académie des Sciences, High Commissioner for Atomic Energy, Professor (engineering science), Institut National Polytechnique de Grenoble

  • Martin Andler, Professor (mathematics), Université Versailles-Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines
  • René Blanchet, member of the Académie des Sciences, Professeor Emeritus (sciences of the Universe), Université de Nice-Sophia Antipolis, former president of the university
  • Gilles Dowek, Research director (information sciences), National Institute for Research in Computer Science and Control (INRIA), Paris
  • Christian Dumas, member of the Académie des Sciences, Professor (earth sciences), École normale supérieure de Lyon
  • Michèle Hannoyer, Jurist (law and development of foundations), Centre français des Fonds et Fondations
  • Cécile de Hosson, Lecturer (physics education), Université Paris Diderot
  • Jacques Lambert, Professeur of History and the Philosophy of Science, Université Stendhal, Grenoble
  • Françoise Morel-Deville, Researcher, National Institute for Agronomic Research (INRA), Institut français de l’éducation (IFÉ – science in communications), Ecole normale supérieure de Lyon
  • Elisabeth Plé, Associate Professor (science teaching), Université de Reims Champagne-Ardennes
  • Brigitte Proust, Honorary Associate Professor (chemical sciences)
  • David Quéré, Research director (physics) at the National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS), École supérieure de physique et de chimie industrielles de la Ville de Paris (ESPCI)
  • Edith Saltiel, Honorary lecturer (physics and education science), Université Paris Diderot
  • Yves Quéré, member of the Académie des Sciences, co-founder of La main à la pâte, is an honorary member of the Board.